The Interweb and how it networks the world

Jesse Frye
2 min readFeb 15, 2021

--

In a world dominated by Operating systems and online capabilities, one progressing to the need for web access to be a basic human right; it becomes important to really address and learn what the internet really is. We are dominated by search engines in terms of understanding our surroundings and many basic facts about the world around us; for example, I use google to spell check many words that I never bothered to commit to memory. Google and other search engines power our day-to-day understanding of history, science, and any other random fact that may come up in business or conversation. While I was born in 2001, I grew up in a very rural area of Appalachia and did not have internet access until 2013; so I do remember a time in my life where I didn’t have access to all information in the world at my fingertips. Ever since getting access to the internet I have been addicted, spending days reseraching topics, watching videos for far too long, and wasting tons of time chatting with people I will most likely never meet, the internet rocks. Truly to me that’s what the internet is a great database of all the information in the world connected together through servers and code to make this magic interstate run freely and completely throughout cyberspace. We are closer than ever and getting closer every day, I await a time where all people have access to the information that makes us smarter.

--

--

Jesse Frye

Filmmaker and historian of some sort, was once cited by wikipedia